The Saint Augustine Music Festival

No Comments

St. Augustine Music Festival

The Premier Free Classical Music Concert in St. Augustine, Florida

Scheduled over two weekends in June, this Classical Music Concert features musicians from the Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra joined by internationally renowned artists presenting a variety of classical compositions. The festival runs June 18-20 and June 25-27.  Want to learn more about this festival? Check out their website here.

If you are planning on visiting St. Augustine for this annual Music Festival be sure to book your St. Augustine Historic Bed and Breakfast Inn while there are still some rooms available.

Check here to see which inns still have availability.

Concerts are held in the historic St. Augustine Cathedral Basilica. The Cathedral Basilica’s lineage reaches back to 1565, when Don Pedro Menendez de Aviles established St. Augustine in the name of Catholic Spain. The St. Augustine Music Festival – an independent, not-for-profit group – has presented concerts in the Cathedral since 2007, thanks to the gracious permission and welcome of the parish.

Below is the listing of the concerts at the Cathedral Basilica for 2015:

Thursday,  June  18,  7:30pm  – Cathedral  Basilica

“Alive  with  History”

In  celebration  of  the  450th anniversary  of  the  foundation  of  the  city  of  St.  Augustine

Andres  Díaz,  Cello, Soloist

OTTORINO  RESPIGHI  (1879-­1936)
Ancient  Airs  and  Dances  Suite  3
I.  Italiana:  Andantino  (Anonymous)
II.  Arie  di  corte:  Andante  cantabile  (Jean-­Baptiste  Besard)
III.  Siciliana:  Andantino  (Anonymous)
IV.  Passacaglia:  Maestoso  – Vivace  (Lodovico  Roncalli)
ASTOR  PIAZZOLLA  (1921-­1992)
          Arr.  Paul  Salerni
Le  Grand  Tango  for  Solo  Violoncello  and  String  Orchestra
–I  N  T  E  R  M  I  S  S  I  O  N  –
Overture  (Suite)  in  F  major,  TWV  55:F3
I.  Ouverture
II.  Sarabande
III.  Menuetto
IV.  La  Badinerie
FRANZ  JOSEPH  HAYDN  (1732-­1809)
Cello  Concerto  No.  1  in  C  major
Andres  Díaz,  Cello
I.  Moderato
II.  Adagio
III.  Allegro  molt

Friday,  June  19,  7:30pm  – Cathedral  Basilica

“Música  del  Paraíso”

A  Celebration  of  Spanish  Music
Stephen  Robinson,  Guitar and Les  Rottges,  flute
ALONSO  MUDARRA  (c.  1510-1580)
Diferencias  Sobre  “Conde  Claros”
Fantasia  X
Castillos  de  España
I.  Turégano  (Serenilla)
II.  Torija  (Elegía)
III.  Manzanares  el  Real
IV.  Sigüenza
V.  Olite
ISAAC  ALBÉNIZ  (1860-­1909)
Rumoresde  la  Caleta,  Op.  71,  No.  6
Mallorca,  Op.  202
Sevilla,  Op.  47,  No.  3
– I N  T  E  R  M  I  S  S  I  O  N  –
REGINO  SAINS  DE  LA  MAZA  (1896-­1981)
Petenera                                                                                                                        Zapateado
FRANCISCO  TÁRREGA  (1852-­1909)
Capricho  Árabe
Recuerdos  de  la  Alhambra
JOAQUÍN  RODRIGO  (1901-­1999)
Arr.  by  Stephen  Robinson
Fantasía  para  un  Gentilhombrefor  Flute  and  Guitar
I.  Villano  y  Ricercar
II.  Españoleta
III. Fanfarria  de  la  caballeríade  Nápoles
IV.  Danza  de  las  Hachas
V.  Canario

Saturday,  June  20,  7:30pm  –Cathedral  Basilica

“Música  Nocturna”

Andres  Díaz,  Cello,  Guest  Artist
Movado  Quartet
FRANZ  SCHUBERT  (1797-­‐1828)
String  Quintetin  C  major,  D.956  
I.  Allegro  ma  non  troppo
II.  Adagio
III.  Scherzo  (Presto)  –Trio  (Andante  sostenuto)
IV.  Allegretto
Aurica  Duca,  Clinton  Dewing – Violin
Jorge  A.  Peña  – Viola
Andres  Díaz,  Jin  Kim-­Peña – Cello

Thursday,  June  25,  7:30pm  –Cathedral  Basilica

“Flights  of  Fancy”

ANTONIO  VIVALDI  (1678-­‐1741)
Sonata  No.  12  in  D  minor,Op.  1,  RV63  “La  Folia”
Adagio  and  Variations
Clinton  Dewing,  Gabriela  Peña-­Kim – Violin
Jin Kim-­Peña – Cello
Ileana  Fernandez – Harpsichord
FRANCIS  POULENC  (1899-­1963)
Sextet  for  Wind  quintetand  piano  in  C  major,Op.  100
I.  Allegro  vivace
II.  Divertissement: Andantino
III.  Finale: Prestissimo
Les  Roettges – Flute; Eric  Olson – Oboe; Sunshine  Simmons – Clarinet; Anthony Anurca – Bassoon; Debra Fialek – Horn; Eugenio Urrutia-Borlando – Piano
–  I  N  T  E  R  M  I  S  S  I  O  N  –
GIACCHINO  ROSSINI  (1792-­1868)
Serenata  per  Piccolo  Complesso
Introduction,  theme  and  variations
Les  Roettges – Flute;  Eric  Olson – Oboe;  Claudia  Minch – English  Horn
Aurica  Duca,  Clinton  Dewing – Violin;  Ellen  Olson – Viola;  Jin  Kim-­Peña – Cello
ENRIQUE  GRANADOS  (1867-­1916)
Piano  Quintet  in  G  minor,  Op.  49
I.  Allegro
II.  Allegretto  quasi  andantino
III.  Largo  -­‐Molto  presto
Aurica  Duca,  Gabriela  Peña-­Kim – Violin
Jorge  A.  Peña – Viola
Jin  Kim-­‐Peña – Cello
Eugenio  Urrutia-­Borlando – Piano

Friday,  June  26,  7:30pm  –Cathedral  Basilica

“Mysteries  and  Visions”

Mozart and MoreJOAQUÍN  TURINA (1882-­1949)
La  Oración  del  Torero,  Op.34  (The  Bullfighter’s  Prayerstring quartet)
Antonio  Rincón, John  Henry  Kruer – Violin
Colin  Kiely – Viola
Betsy  Federman – Cello
CLAUDE  DEBUSSY  (1862-­1918)
Sonata  for  Flute,  Viola and Harp
I.  Pastorale:  Lento,  dolce  rubato
II.  Interlude:  Tempo  di  Minuetto
III.  Finale:  Allegro  moderato  ma  risoluto
Les  Roettges – Flute
Jorge  A.  Peña  – Viola
Deborah  Fleisher – Harp
–  I  N  T  E  R  M  I  S  S  I  O  N  –
CLAUDE  DEBUSSY  (1862-­1918)
Arr.  Arnold  Shoenberg  (1874-­1951)
Prélude  à  l’après-­midi  d’un  faune  (Prelude  to  the  Afternoon  of  a  Faun)
Trés  Modéré
Les  Roettges – Flute;  Eric  Olson – Oboe;  Sunshine  Simmons – Clarinet;  Deborah  Fleisher – Harp
Ileana Fernandez – Piano;  John  Henry  Kruer,  Antonio  Rincón – Violin; Jorge A. Peña – Viola;  Betsy  Federman – Cello
ANTONÍNDVORÁK (1841-­1904)
American  Quartet  No.  12  in  F  major    
I.  Allegro  ma  non  troppo
II.  Lento
III.  Molto  vivace
IV.  Finale:  vivace  ma  non  troppo
Jennifer  Carsillo,  Antonio  Rincón – Violin
Colin  Kiely  –Viola;  Betsy  Federman – Cello

Saturday,  June  27,  7:30pm  –Cathedral  Basilica

In  Celebration  of  the  450th Anniversary

“Old  World,  New  World”

Eugenio  Urrutia-­Borlando,  Piano,  Soloist
Michelle  Merrill  –Guest  Conductor
Mendelssohn's Octet. Betsy Federman, Jin Peña, Chris Chappell, Piotr Szewczyk, Susan Pardue, Clinton Dewing, Aurica Duca, Jorge Peña.WOLFGANG  AMADEUS  MOZART  (1756-­1791)
Symphony  No.  41  in  C  major “Jupiter”  K.551
I.  Allegro  vivace
II.  Andante  cantabile
III.  Menuetto:  Allegretto  -­Trio
IV.  Molto  allegro
–  I  N  T  E  R  M  I  S  S  I  O  N  –
Piano  Concerto  No.  22  in  E-­flat  majorK-­482
I.  Allegro
II.  Andante
III.  Allegro
Eugenio  Urrutia-­Borland-Piano
PIOTR  SZEWCZYK  (1977-­   )
St.  Augustine  Suite
I.  Timucua
II.  Atlantic  Dreams
III.  Castillo  de  San  Marcos
IV.  The  Lighthouse
Les  Roettges – flute,  Jorge  A.  Peña – viola,  Julian  Kaplan – trumpet

SAMF  450th Anniversary  Commission  World  Premier

Mia Bain
About the Author